Graff, Keir. The Price of Liberty. Severn House. Aug 2010. c248p. ISBN: 978-0-7278-6872-5. $28.95. Fiction.

Both Jack McEnroe and his ex-wife, Kyla, work for Fetters and Son, a construction company building a federal prison for terrorists (ironically named Camp Liberty) in an isolated area of Wyoming. The job is a no-bid, cost-plus boondoggle, and boss Dave Fetters, honest until this time in his life, can’t resist padding the books. When office manager Kyla learns of the fraud, she plans to blow the whistle with Jack’s help, only to find herself and her two kids taken hostage by Dave’s son, Shane. Shane is a few numbers short on the brain scale, and it’s easy for the reader to laugh at his stupidity–until he starts killing anyone he perceives as a threat. His first two victims, college journalism students, are strung up and slaughtered with no more compunction than that felt by a hunter gutting a deer. But Shane is not the only killer with a vested interest in Camp Liberty. As the body count grows, Jack will need all his wiles if he hopes to rescue his ex-wife and kids and avoid the high price of liberty. VERDICT With its wacky characters and deadpan humor, Graff’s third novel (after My Fellow Americans and One Nation, Under God), another winner, will appeal to those who like their thrillers slightly off-kilter in the tradition of Donald Westlake and Lawrence Block.

Library Journal, vol. 135, no. 12 (July 2010), 70-71.


Contact Information at ronterpening.com